Dear Diet Diary: Father’s Day was a treat

Monday, June 21st

Dear Diet Diary,

Father’s Day was a treat! Hubby thoroughly enjoyed his first Father’s Day and the gifts that came with it. So did I. Breakfast chez King topped the list. I got to indulge in the Buttermilk Banana Split pancakes that I made from scratch. Yum! I tried to minimize the sin (at least on my side of the table) by skipping the side of sausage, instead filling my plate with fresh fruit.

Dinner by comparison, was not so pure. My intention was to cook a reasonably healthy meat lasagna. Unfortunately fatigue got the best of me. Our homemade Italian dinner was replaced by a home-delivered Italian dinner – one large Honolulu pizza. Ham, bacon and pineapple. Triple yum!

After a day of tasty cheat meals, I decided some redemption was in order. You’ll notice the meat lasagna makes an appearance on this reclamation Monday.

Breakfast

(approx. 385 calories; 5 g  fat; 8.5 g protein)

  • 1 cup Fiber 1 cereal with 2% milk
  • 1 kiwi
  • 1 cup of coffee with 1/2 tsp. brown sugar & 1 tbsp. cream

Lunch

(approx. 550 calories; 22 g  fat; 18 g protein)

  • 2 eggs (scrambled with milk and butter)
  • 1 plantain (fried in virgin olive oil)
  • 1 slice sunflower flax bread (naked)
  • 1 cup of coffee with 1/2 tsp. brown sugar & 1 tbsp. cream

Afternoon Snack

(approx. 230 calories;  11 g  fat; 9 g protein)

  • 1 apple
  • 1 handful of  unsalted whole almonds
  • 1 cup chocolate soy milk

Afternoon Snack

(approx. 130 calories; 9 g  fat; 10 g protein)

  • 2 rye flat bread crackers
  • 1 small cube of part-skim mozzarella cheese

Dinner

(approx. 389 calories; 13g  fat; 31 g protein)

  • 1 serving of homemade meat lasagna

Evening Snack

(approx. 50 calories; 1.5g fat; .5g protein)

  • 1 handful of raisins
  • 1 cup of coffee with 1/2 tsp. brown sugar & 1 tbsp. cream

(Approx. Totals:  1734 calories; 61.5 g fat; 77 g protein)

+ 6 glasses of water throughout

It was (unintentionally) kind of a low-cal day. Fat intake was on target. And hm, not much in the way of veggies. More balance next time.

3 Comments

Filed under Dear Diet Diary (Food Journal)

3 responses to “Dear Diet Diary: Father’s Day was a treat

  1. Pauline

    Reading your diet diary entries is very inspiring. Makes me think about what I’m putting in my belly! I overcame the urge to get a scone for my mid-morning snack today, but it was replaced with yogurt-covered almonds. Next time I’ll stick with the plain almonds! lol Baby steps…

  2. Debbie King

    Thanks Pauline. I feel like I have to be a good example so that keeps me honest. Though one day maybe I’ll post a not-so-good diet entry for your amusement 🙂

    Yes, baby steps are good. It took me a long time to get to the point where I can enjoy fruit or rye crackers as a snack.

    Yogurt-covered almonds fair a little better than a scone. Keep going. You can even try salted then raw when you’re ready. Bon appetit 🙂

Leave a Reply

