Dear Diet Diary: It was a good day

Sunday, June 13

Dear Diet Diary,

I’ve certainly had my fill. A week’s worth of leftover christening cake is more indulgence than any woman needs! I’m ready to bid farewell to the sugary treats for awhile. I don’t even think I’ll miss them.

My fitness assessment is just four weeks away. I’ll be nine months postpartum then. You know what they say – it takes nine months to gain the weight, and at least nine months to lose it. I really hope to fit into my favourite jeans by then. Hence the not-so-bitter sweet farewell.

Today was my first really good diet day. (Not diet, like DIET; diet like nutrition). I ate well and had a healthy calorie intake. Plus I had good fats and a total fat intake within the recommended daily allowance. 27% of my calories came from fat. It was a good day.

Breakfast:

(approx. 400 calories, 14g fat, 14g protein)

  • 1 slice sunflower flax bread with 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 cup chocolate soy milk
  • 1/2 banana

Morning Workout:

  • 15 min. cardio
  • Full body strength routine

Post-Workout Snack:

(approx. 50 calories, 1/2g fat, 1/2g protein)

  • 1/2 banana

Lunch:

(approx. 350 calories, 9-1/2g fat, 30g protein)

  • Homemade open faced turkey & cheese sandwich on sunflower flax bread
  • 1 handful strawberries
  • 1 cup coffee with 1 tbsp cream and 1 tsp sugar

Afternoon Snack:

(approx. 110 calories, 3g fat, 2g protein)

  • 3 rye flat breads with white bean dip and avocado

Dinner:

(approx. 700 calories, 17g fat, 29g protein)

  • 1 serving home-made bean & lentil casserole
  • 3/4 cup (cooked) brown rice
  • 1/2 sweet potato (baked in olive oil)
  • 1 cup salad (spinach, kale, tomato)

Evening Snack:

(approx. 295 calories, 15g fat, 10g protein)

  • 3 handfuls of  store-bought Super Mix (nuts, seeds, dried fruit)
  • 1 cup coffee with cream and sugar

Overnight Snack:

(approx. 160 calories, 3g fat, 6g protein)

  • 1/2 cup chocolate soy milk

Note: Water Throughout

(approx. total  2065 calories, 62g fat, 93g protein)

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition

Leave a comment