Get In Line: Physiotherapy for moms

Back in January, I received a very informative response to my “He Said, She Said” post. It was from a physiotherapist named Julie. Since she checked me out, I decided to check her out. Curious, I keyed in http://www.interiorfitness.com.  Am I ever glad I did.

I learned that Julie is a physical therapist with a special interest in postnatal core restoration. At the time, I wasn’t sure what physiotherapy had to do with mummy tummies. Having recently participated in her seminar, I get it.

It’s easy to focus on our cosmetic exterior – the stretch marks, the loose skin, the concave belly. I’m guilty of this for sure. It’s easy to forget the importance of our interior structure – our posture and total core conditioning. The state of our interior can certainly impact the form and function of our exterior.  And yes, a weak core can be associated with a protruding belly.

Julie Wiebe, Interior Fitness

Julie delivered a one hour seminar packed with information. She covered A LOT of ground. Some of it went over my head for sure, but some actually stayed put between my ears.  The gist of it all was that pregnancy impacts our core and our posture. Corrections often need to be made postpartum to realign the core and improve posture.  These corrections help our bodies function optimally, minimize pain, and let’s face it, the one we care about most, can help flatten our tummies. Did I get that right, Julie?

Ever since the seminar, I’ve been conscious of my alignment. Julie showed me how my shoulders have rounded and how my midsection hinges back. Ha, and I totally thought I was standing straight.  That explains why I can’t do a proper squat anymore! Now I’m in auto-correct mode. I catch myself and try to adjust to a neutral posture where my core (diaphragm, TA and pelvis) is in line. Rest assured Julie, something did sink in, LOL.

Julie is also no stranger to diastasis. She was so cute. Having read about the trials and tribulations of my separation, she couldn’t wait to check it out. I couldn’t wait to show her. The cool thing is that the information she gave me actually complements what I learned through Core Expectations. Now when I do my contractions, I’m conscious of making sure my core is properly aligned first.

There was one other interesting finding. Julie measured my abdominal separation as two finger widths, not four. Hm?? I guess with any manual measurement there is bound to be variation. I do recall reading different variations on how to properly measure diastasis.

All in all, the seminar was great and a nice change of pace for my mom’s group. Julie didn’t provide any magic answers. She provided education and awareness, which I think is more valuable. I found it really interesting to compare the advice of a physiotherapist to that of a personal trainer.  Because they have different expertise, they offer different perspectives on the same issues. If you can take advantage of seminars or consultations from either, or better yet both, I say do so.

We are lucky to have so much  information available to us. To think, most of our mothers relied on good genes or a girdle. End of story!

What practitioners have you seen in relation to a pregnancy or postnatal issues? – Midwife? Massage Therapist? Physiotherapist? Chiropractor? Doctor of Natural Medicine?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

