Running Errands: My new workout fix

I remember the first time I heard the phrase ‘running errands’. Being a child, I didn’t know what an errand was. Whatever it meant, it sure sounded posh coming from Nikki Newman, LOL. As an adult, I now run countless errands. There’s definitely nothing posh about the way I’m running them these days. Sweatpants. Hoodie. Yep, you guessed it. I am literally ‘running’ my errands.

I’ve been yearning to run. When I’m out walking, I find myself wanting to pick up my feet, pump my arms and take off. I hear my body saying “I’m ready”.

I started with a run to my lunchtime yoga class. It was wonderful! I didn’t realize how much I’d missed it – the rhythm of my step, the sweat on my brow, the sound of my breath. I wanted more. Unfortunately, most mornings find me too tired to hit the pavement. Apparently we’re not done  with the nighttime  feedings after all. Then it hit me. Talk about an aha moment.

I had to grocery shop this weekend. “OMG, why don’t I run to the grocery store?!” I donned my running gear, stuck my bank card in my pocket, and tucked three enviro bags under my arm. Brilliant! Then in the evening, hubby asked me to pick up dinner. Yes, after spending $120 on groceries, we got takeout for dinner. Within minutes, I was back in my Sauconys and Lady GaGa and I were off to get rotis!

Why didn’t I think of this sooner? What a great way to sneak in a workout. My runs are short right now, and in truth more of a jog, but that’s not the point. The point is I’m running.  Ten minutes to the gym. Seven minutes to the grocery store. Five minutes to Island Foods. It all adds up. Exercise is cumulative. Workout sessions don’t need to be long to be effective (presuming you’re not training for endurance). And whenever I wish, I can take the scenic route  to add more distance.

This is mommy multi-tasking at its best! Bring on the errands – post office, drug store, doctor’s office – I’m there. Plus, I love stepping into my destination looking like a runner. Check it out Nikki Newman. This is how you get things done!

How do you sneak more activity into your day? Bike to work? Take the stairs? Crunch during commercials?

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Running Errands: My new workout fix

  1. Pauline

    Oh dear…this post made me long for my biking days. Before the kids, my bike was my main form of transport and I LOVED it! There is something about being on my bike that makes me feel so free and happy. In fact, Rein and I had planned biking to Niagara Falls for our honeymoon, doing the bed & breakfast thing. (We ended up in Costa Rica so I’m not complaining. lol)
    Anyway, after Lily I still rode almost everywhere as much as possible. But now, with 2 kids, it’s just become too difficult. With the lugging of stuff and the kids’ different ages….anyway…I’m rambling. Long story short, I really miss my bike.

Leave a Reply

