ProRated: An expert assessment of my diastasis

Remember when you finally found someone who could explain GRPs, GNP or Excel macros? Me neither. Alright, how about when you finally found someone to remove the stain in your favourite party dress or give you the perfect haircut? That’s how I felt when I met Samantha.

I learned of Core Expectations through a friend. Within an hour of visiting  the website I was on the phone booking an appointment with the founder, Samantha Montpetit-Huynh. Finally, I would get a professional assessment and treatment for my diastasis. If you’ve been following, you know it’s been the bane of my postnatal existence (see Dec. 14, “I’ve Come Undone”).

Samantha practices the Tupler Technique for repairing diastasis. I mentioned Tupler in my Jan. 14 “He Said, She Said” post. At the time, I was skeptical of the big celebrity endorsements. Just because Oprah says it, doesn’t make it so. Looks like Harpo got it right this time. Ab Rehab works.

After a short introduction and obligatory paperwork, we got right down to business. It turns out my abdominal separation is four finger widths wide – not two as I thought. Great. Oh, and my connective tissue is weak. So much so that with Samantha’s guidance, I could actually feel my organs pulsing beneath my skin. Lovely. But on the up side, I now know what to do (and not do) to fix it. Its been two days and I’m fully immersed in the program. I’m doing a progression of exercises to strengthen my transverse abdominals, I’m avoiding certain movements and I’m wearing a splint. Oh yes, the very same splint I mocked. I won’t give away all the details but my current daily program includes:

  • 5 sets of exercise #1
  • 10 sets of exercise #2
  • strict attention to posture and core engagement during daily activities
  • strict attention to posture and core engagement when working out

We’ll have another session in four weeks. That’s when I’ll learn the next stage of exercises. Then by week six, I should feel the satisfaction that comes with a smaller separation and smaller tummy. Hallelujah.

Dealing with the situation feels great. I did though, have a moment of depression in the afternoon after our session. The reality check hurt a little. It would still take a good deal of time and work to flatten this mummy tummy. But one day later, having started the treatment, I feel empowered. As a great army man often said, “knowing is half the battle” LOL.

In case you’re wondering, I was indeed impressed with Samantha’s services overall. She is knowledgeable, friendly and  professional. And a sista to boot! The home visit was tres convenient and all the administration very smooth. She even gave me some good nutrition and supplement tips which I did not expect. Could it be? A boost in energy AND relief from my painful tendinitis?

There was also an added bonus for me, achiever that I am. As part of the evaluation, my waist circumference, heart rate and blood pressure were measured. We won’t talk about my waist size but the other counts were amazing. My heart rate which was 68bpm in December is down to 64. And markedly lower than the 72bpm average I might add 🙂

My only regret is not meeting Samantha earlier. I would have loved her guidance while I was pregnant and doing all those stupid crunches and bicycles.

All you mamas-to-be out there, listen up! It’s definitely worth it to consult with a trainer certified in pre and postnatal exercise. After all, you wouldn’t go to a  dog groomer for new bangs, right?

How informed are/were you about prenatal exercise during your pregnancy?

1 Comment

Filed under Fitness

One response to “ProRated: An expert assessment of my diastasis

  1. Wow!

    THanks so much for all the kind words!
    I am so glad to hear that you are committed to doing the program and you feel empowered by it. I totally get that mind set as we are both fitness junkies already.
    It’s the others that we need to empower and give them the knowledge that they can close the separation, get strong and look fantastic – all without surgery. Who new??
    It was a pleasure to meet you and I can’t wait to see the results of all your hard work.

    Best,
    Sam

Leave a Reply

