Book Smart: Reading up on postnatal fitness

There we stand at the entrance of Chapters. Bright lights, brewed coffee, and books galore. Hubby and I are like kids in a candy store. In different parts of the candy store, that is. Off to the music, poetry and ‘boring history stuff’ sections he goes. And I? A beeline to health, of course.

Ah, the perfect opportunity for some good fitness reading. Yes, even on a date I’ve got strength and tone on the brain. I could literally spend hours browsing the sixteen shelves of fitness and diet books. But those are hours I don’t have. That last bottle of  milk will buy me another hour, if I’m lucky. Time to zone in. Focus on postnatal fitness.

Postnatal. Postnatal. Hmm. I see men’s fitness, women’s fitness, fitness over 50. I see books on strength training, books on core training, a whole book on arm workouts. Seriously. Yoga, yoga yoga. Diets, diets, diets. Yoga, diets, yoga, diets. Where are the books on postnatal fitness? Oops, I’ve gone to far. Now I’m in the  pregnancy section. Eating right, what to expect, what to name the youngin’. Nope, back to fitness.

One book by the editors of Fit Pregnancy magazine. That’s it. Alrighty then, what do they suggest to “Get Your Body Back After Baby”? I flip hopefully through the pages. An explanation of diastasis. That’s good. Flip, flip some more. The suggestion of a tummy tuck for a more attractive midsection. Slightly disappointing.

The whole venture is slightly disappointing. I can’t help but draw to a few equally sad conclusions: Postpartum women have been marginalized right out of the weight room. Baby belly workout books don’t bring in the big bucks for bookstore giants. Few people know enough to speak knowledgeably on the subject beyond stroller-fit instruction. No offense, stoller-fit lovers. It’s just not my cup of grande decaf americano.

No time to mourn this aborted mission.  I head to the cooking session. Mentally penning my future postnatal strength training book as I go. There’s certainly no shortage of healthy eating titles. I leave with Anne Lindsay’s “Lighthearted Everyday Cooking”. Spinach and artichoke dip, you had me at hello.

I’m curious to see if more fitness books for postnatal women are available online or through other sources – the public library perhaps. In the meantime, I’m left believing there’s a gap in the market for we, the invisible segment of the fitness population.

If necessity is the  mother of invention, perhaps I’m to be the mother of a postnatal fitness bestseller? Time (and the Chapters search tool) will tell!

As a new mom, what subjects or genres of books most interest you?

What unique fitness books would you like to find on shelf?

2 Comments

Filed under Fitness

2 responses to “Book Smart: Reading up on postnatal fitness

  1. kirstenheyerdahl

    I love Anne Lindsay’s cookbooks! I grew up with my parents cooking from them. Skip the muffins though; they’re almost too healthy. 🙂

  2. Pauline

    From my experience, there is a lot of information out there about immediate post-natal fitness but nothing specific beyond the time it takes to heal from delivery. So, I guess once you’ve healed enough to begin working out “normally”, I have never found anything geared specifically to women who no longer need a gentle contraction of their abs, but are still contending with breast-feeding and being a new mom! So, long story short, when do we publish your book, Deb???

Leave a Reply

