Breakfast of Champions…and Nursing Moms: The goodness of oatmeal

I used to eat oatmeal all the time. It was awesome. Why did I ever stop? Oh yeah, because I was sick of eating it all the time, LOL! A year later and ever the wiser, I’ve rediscovered the wholesome goodness of oats.

While training for my figure competition, oatmeal was a staple kitchen item. Bodybuilding athletes often opt for steel cut or rolled oats (definitely not the flavoured stuff) among their choices of complex carbs. The taste didn’t thrill me at first, but the nutritional value couldn’t be argued. Low-to-no  fat, sodium, or sugar and a good source of iron and fibre.  A nutritionist would have more to say about it’s benefits. Apparently lactation consultants do too.

Oatmeal is believed to increase milk supply. I’m no expert on the matter but I have heard this stated from more than one source. I don’t doubt it myself. Many natural foods have proven to have prescriptive benefits. And even if it doesn’t pump up your milk supply (pun intended, ha ha) it’s still an ultra healthy food choice. Weight-loss friendly, for sure. Funny enough, Aveeno colloidal oatmeal was a God-send when my pregnant tummy itched to no end. How’s that for added goodness? But I digress.

The morning oatmeal-making has quickly become routine for Naomi and me. She sits in her bouncy chair and looks on as I prepare breakfast. She absolutely loves the sounds of clanging cookware and utensils.

For now, I am enjoying 1/3 cup of one-minute rolled oats topped with apple, cinnamon, walnuts and maple syrup. I look forward to adding a small amount of protein powder for a totally balanced breakfast. Mental note: add GNC trip to the neglected to-do list. Then there’s the oatmeal and egg white pancakes which are actually much better than they sound!

The time will come when it’s back to dry oats over a hard-boiled egg. Believe it or not, that tablespoon of uncooked oats actually becomes a treat. Yep, that’s what it takes to bring home the gold. Still, I can’t wait to do it all again!

To top it all off, January is apparently oatmeal month I know, seriously? So knock yourselves out. Bring on the oat bars, oatmeal cookies and muesli!

What are your favourite oat-based foods and recipes?

GOOD TO KNOW: Substances said to promote lactation are called galactagogues. Some others are  fenugreek, blessed thistle and alfalfa . Check with a lactation expert for more information or advice.

4 Comments

Filed under Nutrition

4 responses to “Breakfast of Champions…and Nursing Moms: The goodness of oatmeal

  1. Hema

    Dry oats over a hard-boiled egg?! This is one of the reasons why I will never go for gold.

    Do you know if Cream of Wheat or Red River cereal are good (weight loss not lactation) alternatives?

  2. Pauline

    I absolutely love oatmeal. And when I eat it at my parents’, my mom fills it with nuts and seeds and honey and it’s positively yummy. BUT, am I the only one who is super hungry about 1/2 hour after eating oatmeal? What’s up with that? Seriously. It feels like it makes me MORE hungry :-/

    • Debbie King

      Hm, complex carbs like oatmeal are usually quite satisfying. Maybe the sugar in the honey or something else like juice has got you wanting more.

      You could try having more protein at that meal – an egg or some milk. The protein should help fill you up.

      Maybe you just love your mom’s yummy cooking so much that you can’t get enough! 🙂

Leave a Reply

