Go Fish:My new-found food options

Getting a meal down sometimes feels like a game. There’s a constant race to prepare and eat my food before my daughter alerts me that she’s hungry, wet, tired, or all of the above, ha! I can play this game. Do you have any quick healthy meal options? Go Fish!

This one’s an oldie but rediscovered goody- flavoured tuna. I prefer the Clover Leaf brand. The 85g can of Sundried Tomato & Basil Tuna has 110 calories, 4 grams of fat, 2 grams of sugar and 16 grams of protein. I eat it on Suzie’s spelt flatbread.

While perusing the Metro aisles, I happened upon boneless herring fillets. I’d never seen these before but decided to give them a try. I love that I can just pull back the lid and eat them right out of the tin. One 80g can of the Golden Smoked flavour has 130 calories, 8 grams of fat, 0 sugar and 16 grams of protein. I eat them along with whatever I can scrounge up.

I’ve weaned myself off fish sticks and moved just slightly left in the grocery store freezer to the frozen fillets. In 14-16 minutes I can have a tasty piece of garlic butter flavoured grilled salmon ready to eat.  (3-4 minutes if I had microwave). One 89g fillet has 90 calories, 2 grams of fat, 0 sugar and 16 grams of protein. I still eat them with McCain fries, but that’s another battle for another day.

I don’t like Dr. Oz but whaddya know? I tuned in for 20 minutes one day and actually got something out of the show – other than a warning of impending death that is, LOL. It was the suggestion of canned smoked oysters as a snack. I haven’t tried them yet but I do have a package in my cupboard waiting to be sampled. One 85g can has 160 calories, 10 grams of fat, 0 sugar and 10 grams of protein.

I admit these foods aren’t perfect. Like most prepared foods, they have more sodium than I’d prefer. But that’s the trade-off I make in exchange for convenience. And I’m not a nutritionist but in my opinion, the sodium is a small price to pay when you consider these benefits for me and baby:

  • Good portion sizes, calories and sugar content support weight loss goals
  • The protein does double duty helping me feel full and also helping to build muscle (which in turn supports weight loss goals)
  • The “good fats” help balance each meal (carbs+protein+ fat) and are also important for baby’s brain development
  • The omega 3 fatty acids are good for the heart
  • The high iron content helps battle fatigue and is particularly important for me since I’m iron-deficient
  • They are all packed with vitamins and minerals that will be passed on to baby in my breast milk

This feels like a winning strategy already. At least until I find time to cook a real meal!

If you know of other convenient fish and seafood options, I’d love to hear them.

11 Comments

Filed under Nutrition

11 responses to “Go Fish:My new-found food options

  1. Pauline

    Are you a fan of sardines at all? I just love them with a bit of lemon squeezed on top. The boneless/skinless ones you can eat straight out of the can as well. High in omega-business too. lol

    All I know is I want a ticket to your next show, girl!!!!

    • Debbie King

      Thanks for the suggestion Pauline. I don’t think I’ve ever had sardines. For some reason I don’t think I like them. I guess in theory I could choose almost any of the canned fishes and seafood in that same grocery section. Great, even more options.

    • Hema

      I love sardines and have been eating them since I was a kid. I usually mix them up with a bit of chopped tomato, onion and hot pepper but then I discovered that they now sell them with hot tabasco peppers. Yum!

  2. Pauline

    Oh! And why don’t you like Dr. Oz??

    • Debbie King

      I have no good reason. He just bugs me. I feel like the show is about the same thing every day – signs of something that’s gonna kill ya. Now eat this food to save your life 🙂

  3. Deb… love your blog and your witty and insightful tips! I recently joined the goodlife near my house that provides child minding… it’s a great way to escape the mommy routine for an hour and focus on yourself. I’m picking up canned oysters/herring today on my way out of the gym! (the GL is located in the superstore)… one thing about tuna, i’ve read you should limit it while breastfeeding due to the mercury levels and AVOID albacore tuna entirely… it contains the highest amount of mercury.

    • Debbie King

      Thanks Rebekah! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I love writing it.

      Yes, I love my GoodLife time. My club is ten minutes from home so even the walk there and back provides some nice meditative time.

      Thanks for the reminder about the tuna. I hear conflicting information sometimes but I did read today that breastfeeding women should limit intake of all canned fishes to 12oz per week. That’s roughly 350g. I don’t know about you but 3-4 cans of tuna/herring/oysters each week is more than enough for me!

  4. Nicole

    You ladies might be interested to know that light tuna has less mercury than white tuna: http://www.chow.com/stories/11657

  5. kirstenheyerdahl

    I recommend RainCoast Trading canned fish http://www.raincoasttrading.com. You can buy fish that is unsalted, skinless and boneless, or that has skin and bones in it (which I get and mash in for extra goodness). It is a sustainable fishing company so the products cost more, but you can eat them in good conscience.

    Also, here is a list of which fish are more sustainable to eat, as many fish populations are being over fished and won’t be around much longer. http://www.eartheasy.com/eat_sustainable_seafoods.htm

  6. Pauline

    I recently watched the doc, End of the Line. Definite recommendation for fish eaters, like myself. Albeit a wake-up call :-/
    And thanks for the RainCoast tip, Kirsten!

  7. My co-worker is ordering these wallet sized cards with plenty of information about fish. It’s really great because you can carry it wherever you go and make choices based on the recommendations on the card. I will grab one for you when she gets them.

Leave a Reply

