The Good, The Bad & The Ugghh!: Fitness assessment #1

There I was at GoodLife receiving the results of my preliminary fitness assessment and trying  hard to keep my spirits from totally plummeting.

I usually like tests: course exams, trivia games, Facebook quizzes, and especially tests of physical power and athletic ability. This one had me cringing.  At two and a half months postpartum, the series of measurements revealed some good, some bad and some downright ugghh! Let’s start there.

The Ugghh – My cardio conditioning and core strength are shot! Both measure considerably below average. This is hardly a shock, just a harsh reality to stomach. I recently read that when a runner ceases running for three days their conditioning begins to suffer. After a few weeks, it’s back to square one.  No kidding. My last run was almost seven months ago. Yikes.

The Bad – The numbers aren’t bad per se, but I can’t say I like them. Let’s just say they are what they are. In the months to come I’ll be working to bring most of them down. Way down. The only measurement in question is the body fat percentage. I’m not sure whether 35% body fat is acceptable for breastfeeding women or if it is still considered well above the healthy range of 20-25%.

  • Weight: 163 lbs
  • Body Fat: 35%
  • Chest: 40 inches
  • Waist: 39 inches
  • Buttocks/Hips: 41.25 inches
  • Thighs: 22.5 inches

The Good – It’s good to know that my resting heart rate and blood pressure are better than average. This is great actually. It means that my body is still in good health. My cardiovascular system is functioning well and ready to take on the work ahead.

I’ve got three months of what I call “base training” to conquer before my next assessment. I’ll be focussed on overall reconditioning including strengthening my core. I expect to report much improved results on April 1st.

How do you measure your progress? Do you judge by the numbers, the fit of your clothes, or how you feel overall?

1 Comment

Filed under Fitness, Quarterly Assessment

One response to “The Good, The Bad & The Ugghh!: Fitness assessment #1

  1. Hema

    Looking forward to reading your blog and getting some inspiration to get my non-baby-making body into shape! 🙂 I have to say it…WWDD?

Leave a Reply

