Feeding Time: What's a mom to eat?

What?! You leave the hospital looking five months pregnant?!

I’m sure it goes without saying. Like most new moms, I’m beyond eager to lose the baby belly hidden beneath strategically chosen tops. It may go without saying, but each day I say it still. Sigh. Yet as eager as I am to slip back into my Twiggy jeans, I know there is no quick fix. No magic pill to order. No special elastic waistband to buy. No spot training solution. When it comes to losing the dreaded pooch, I believe a sensible combo of nutrition, cardio and core work are key. A sobering truth, I know.

Nutrition is the most challenging factor of the equation for me right now. In those first few weeks, it was hard enough to find time to eat let alone be mindful of what I ate. Now eight weeks in, I still rely heavily on prepared meals, frozen foods and ‘one hand snacks’.

Through my bodybuilding experience I know what foods I could eliminate for definite weight loss results. But because I am breastfeeding such restrictions are not an option. A balanced diet with adequate fat is best for baby and for me. These are some of my reasonably healthy go-to grocery items right now:

  • Pre-cooked chicken breast strips
  • Pre-cooked turkey or lean beef meatballs
  • Eggs
  • Whole wheat pasta
  • Whole grain cereals, breads, crackers and granola bars
  • Various cheeses
  • Chocolate soy milk
  • Vanilla ice cream
  • Carrot and celery snack trays
  • Apples, bananas and berries
  • Salad in a bag
  • Water, water, water!

My favourite 10-minute meal right now:

  • Chinese chow mein noodles with beef strips and fresh stir fry vegetables

What are you eating postpartum? Do you have favourite snacks or easy 10-minute recipes?

GOOD TO KNOW: Breastfeeding mothers are advised to consume an extra 500 calories daily.

Leave a comment

Filed under Nutrition

Leave a Reply

